Donate   |   Sign In   |   Join
Upcoming Coffee and Conversation
Share |

Upcoming Coffee and Conversation

We host a monthly online, interactive webinar with a senior GWIS mentor and a small group of GWIS members.

 

These webinars are designed to allow for in-depth conversation and an opportunity to network directly with the speaker. Each month look for a preview of the speaker and a link for registration in our GWISEmpower mailings. Only 7 registration spots are available for each session, so you’ll want to act fast once registration opens! We have recruited amazing mentors!

 

Not a member yet? Join GWIS today so you can be a part of this exciting program!

 

Upcoming Speakers

*Dates and times are subject to change.

 

March 2020

Date: Wednesday, March 25th, 2020

Time: TBD, tentatively 4pm EST/3pm CST/1pm PST/10am HST

Facebook Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/1043880069321986/

Questions? Email mentoring@gwis.org

GWIS March Virtual Conversation - Career Panel: Teaching and Research at PUIs/SLACs

 

Join us online on Wednesday, March 25th (mid-late afternoon, exact time TBD) to hear about careers in primarily-undergraduate institutions (PUIs)/small liberal arts college (SLACS). We’ll hear from multiple panelists about their path to this career, their day-to-day work life, how they balance teaching and research, and more. You’ll be able to submit your own questions when you register, or ask our panelists during the live conversations!

 

 

Panelists: 

Dr. Kameko Halfmann, Assistant Professor of Psychology, University of Wisconsin at Platteville (https://kamekohalfmann.com/teaching/sotl/, @KamekoMae on Twitter)

Dr. Elana Stennett, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Hobart and William Smith Colleges (https://www.hws.edu/academics/chemistry/facultyProfile.aspx?facultyID=1580)

Dr. Lindsey McGee, Assistant Professor of Biology, Earlham College (https://earlham.edu/bio/?t=dir&id=42540&r=41406&d=)

 

February 2020

Date: Wednesday, Feb 19th, 2020

Time:  4pm EST/3pm CST/1pm PST/10am HST

Facebook Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/3708061849268401/

Questions? Email mentoring@gwis.org

This month's GWIS Mentoring Virtual Conversation will focus on how to fundraise!

 

Join us on online on Wednesday, Feb 19th at 3pm CST to discuss strategies for fundraising success. GWIS chapters often rely on local fundraising to support professional development, social, and outreach events, and sponsor travel awards. Join to hear a bit about how three chapters successfully fundraised to host the National Conference, which then contributed profit back into the chapter to fund future events. 

 

Panelists: 

Dr. Michelle Booze (Eastern South Dakota chapter, host of 2017 National Conference)

Dr. Rachel Cole (Iowa City chapter, host of 2018 National Conference)

Dr. Lisa Kunza (Black Hills chapter, host of 2019 National Conference)


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal